Camilo Juggles

“Attention, I need everyone’s attention please. We will be starting the juggling passing workshop in the next two minutes, you must need to know how to juggle clubs, not just barely juggle them but be comfortable with them. Look around and choose a partner, preferable someone better than you.”

These where the words I was hearing when I first met Camilo, during one of the monthly TY Park Jams. Having just bought my clubs a couple days before to say I was comfortable with them was a joke but why not at least try, Camilo was kind enough to play along and we actually got a couple rotations of replacements down which was super rewarding.

Screen Shot 2015-06-08 at 10.09.34 PMAs it turns out he only live a couple blocks away from me on the beach so we always aspired to create video of some kind modeled after the video I had made for Buddha Juggles before. He also wanted to create something he could send to potential clients for his future juggling career. We decided to make two different videos a longer cinematic version and one that is just over 60 seconds long for a quick promo. We decided to cut it this way for two reasons, most engagement online doesn’t last more than about 30 seconds and second there was to much great juggling to cut it all out and never show the world.

Screen Shot 2015-06-17 at 11.20.42 AM

This was again shot on my trusty dusty 5D Mark II, a couple lenses 15-35mm f/3.5-5.6 from Sigma, and Canon’s 85mm f/1.8 USM. Both of these lenses I would consider essential to my system, the Sigma makes for a very flexible lens allowing me to capture dramatic wide angles but still when bringing it in to 35mm gives me a really usable normal shot. The Canon is a classic in the sports world for it compact size and wide aperture, I used to use this lens shooting high school basketball games in dingy lit auditoriums. Now this lens has become my secret weapon to create compression and delivery buttery backgrounds. A new addition to my rig this shoot was a small but very welcome and long over due one… a Zoom Control that I bought on Amazon for less than $20. It helped me do some pull movements I haven’t been able to do by myself before.  It seems silly but these little add ons are what really makes your rig go from pretty good to much better. I also readjusted my shoulder rig so I can easily reach the zoom rod while still keeping a steady hold on the rest of the camera.

Maybe next time he can juggle the camera 🙂

Leave a Reply

